Getting Published

All the obstacles and hurdles you have to face and get over to get published is an utter nightmare – I should be used to it by now, but it still leaves a sour taste in one’s mouth as you hit wall after wall. Even self-publishing is no walk in the park. I’ve re-written, re-edited and re-formatted my novel Beneath Southern Stars so many times since originally writing it in the early 1990’s that it makes my head spin. The latest changes have been for Smashwords.com whom I hope to use to self-publish the book before the end of this year. First I need a cover for it. Not being a brilliant artist [as I have previously shown my paintings are landscapes and seascapes only – trying to draw people is another story {excuse the pun} and are limited to matchstick men]. So I am now on the hunt for a graphic artist to create a cover worthy of the story and one which will attract potential buyers. I have made a few enquiries and hopefully I will be rewarded. I then need to obtain an ISBN for it. I remember getting one for free when I self-published Smithy’s War in 2005, but that was through a firm in Melbourne as the book was published in Australia. As Smashwords are in the USA I expect I would need to apply for an ISBN from there – I doubt this would be free? Does anyone know? I guess I’ll have to make a few enquiries.

As the saying goes: “Watch this space” for the continuing saga of “Getting Published”….

RLB – Tomewriter

Leave a comment

Filed under Robert L J Borg & Viviane Elisabeth Borg - Our Writings

Leave a Reply

