And so begins a new start…..

Although writing is my passion, as yet it doesn’t help pay the bills and a day job is necessary. After 6+ years at Unilever my job has moved offshore to India and I was shown the door last Thursday 28th March 2013.

So begins a new start……….. The joys of visiting and registering with recruitment agents, scanning the various websites for possible appropriate vacancies, and hopefully being selected for interviews are once again upon me.

It’s only been a week, so its early days; and as much as it would be tempting to listen to some people and take a break, I however want to get straight into it and find work quickly. The trouble is that if you leave it for a few weeks/months you can risk becoming “lazy”, which would make it all the harder in getting back to the routine of early mornings and facing the long hard days of work.

I don’t think I can ever be accused of being “lazy”, far from it. I do enjoy working, though like most people I also do like a break, which is why I like to plan ahead for holidays [unlike my wife and stepson who tend to leave it for the last-minute], it makes working all that more ‘do-able’ knowing there is something to look forward to.

In the meantime, I will be filling in my time with research, not only for possible future employers, but also to remain up to date with market trends and employment opportunities.

Of course I must not forget my writing. I getting close in finishing my second novel. I must confess I had put it on hold for a while, whilst I came to terms of facing unemployment; but this was short-lived and I am excited at attending interviews to hone this crucial communications skill.  I hope my resume, which comprises a vast experience in my chosen field, will not only impress, but will secure an exciting new role sooner rather than later. For any would-be employer and/or recruiter out there who might be reading this post you can view my professional background on LinkedIn: http://au.linkedin.com/pub/robert-borg/42/276/355

RLB – Tomewriter

Leave a comment

Filed under Robert L J Borg & Viviane Elisabeth Borg - Our Writings

Leave a Reply

