Book Review: “Three Sisters, Three Queens” by Philippa Gregory

Ever since school days, some sixty years ago now, history has always been one of my passions. I can never get enough of it, particularly anything relating to Europe, especially Britain, which is perhaps why most of my own novels have been of a historical nature.

My favourite period is that of the sixteenth to mid-nineteenth centuries, which is why I found “Three Sisters, Three Queens” by Philippa Gregory very enjoyable. More so, I would go as far as saying ‘educational’, in the sense that, despite me thinking I was knowledgeable of the reign of Henry VIII, I have to admit I hadn’t known he had two sisters: Margaret and Mary.

Of course, I was fully aware that Katherine of Aragon – his first wife – was previously married to Henry’s elder brother, Arthur, but what I hadn’t realised until having read this novel, how ruthless she had been.

What I liked best with “Three Sisters, Three Queens”, was that it was written in the first person, seen through the eyes of Margaret Tudor, who, other than recounting her own story (which was quite formidable in itself), describes the rise and fall of Katherine of Aragon (or as Margaret called her: ‘Katherine of Arrogant’).

Margaret was just thirteen years old when she was married to James IV of Scotland, in an attempt by her father, Henry VII to secure a lifetime of peace between the two countries.

However, throughout the reign of her younger brother, Henry VIII, whose self-importance and selfishness dominated political and religious matters on both sides of the border, Margaret’s own life, and that of her son’s (James V) were constantly placed in danger.

Margaret’s younger sister, Mary was married at the age of eighteen to the King of France, Louis XII in 1514. The marriage was short-lived, as the king, some thirty years her senior, and suffering from ill-health, died three months later. Not long after his death, Mary married Charles Brandon, 1st Duke of Suffolk.

Overall, the novel was enlightening; and I am grateful to the author for having meticulously described the political and religious trials and tribulations within England and Scotland, as well as on the European theatre, during that time.

As with all her books, this story was wonderfully written, which explains the 5-Star rating I am giving it.

Thank you, Philippa.

RLB – Tomewriter

Leave a comment

Filed under Robert L J Borg & Viviane Elisabeth Borg - Our Writings

Leave a comment