Book Review: “The Bullet That Missed” by Richard Osman

The first time I had read anything by Richard Osman was his novel “The Thursday Murder Club”, and it was only because my sister had recommended it. I remember finding it immensely amusing, and was glad that I had read it. The sequel, “The Man Who Died Twice” (Reviewed: 22/03/22) was equally entertaining, and I couldn’t wait for the next story in the series.

“The Bullet That Missed” was, by far, (at least in my opinion) the funniest of the three, which had me laughing out loud on more than one occasion (I dread to think what my neighbours were thinking upon hearing my outbursts).

The Thursday Murder Club comprises of four old aged pensioners: Elizabeth, a one-time agent of the secret services; Joyce, a widow and retired nurse. Ron, a retired union leader, and Ibrahim a one-time psychiatrist. They all live in the same seniors’ residential complex, and meet up once a week to solve cold cases which the police have given up on.

In “The Bullet That Missed” the unsolved ‘murder’ was that of Bethany Waites, a reporter and co-host of celebrity Mike Waghorn on the TV news show South East Tonight. The file indicated that Bethany Waites’ car had been seen by CCTV driving off a cliff near Dover, in southern England. The body is never found, so determining the cause of death: whether murder or suicide, is impossible to establish.

As Joyce is a great fan of Mike Waghorn, she persuades the others of the club to investigate this particular case – of course, her ulterior motive is for a chance to meet Mike Waghorn face-to-face.

All four characters are amusing in their own right, but Joyce – especially when she shares her diary entries with you – is the funniest, particularly in the way she dotes on Alan – her dog :o)

As with the previous books, the gang team up with two police officers, Chris and Donna (Chris just happens to be dating Donna’s mum), to help them unravel this intriguing mystery.

There are the usual existing support characters, as well as several new ones who interact throughout the story, each playing their part in this wonderful ‘who-done-it’.

“The Bullet That Missed” was highly enjoyable and entertaining, which of course, I will strongly recommend should you be in need of a good laugh!

It goes without saying that I give this story 5 Stars; and the nice thing is, Richard Osman isn’t finished with The Thursday Murder Club, as he is promising yet another adventure.

Thanks Richard – my sister and I can’t wait to read the next story; but please don’t stop with book 4…. Keep them coming!

RLB – Tomewriter

Leave a comment

Filed under Robert L J Borg & Viviane Elisabeth Borg - Our Writings

Leave a comment